I would have $332 right now if I had a penny for each time someone searched “How much do Facebook advertisements cost?” on Google this year. How much Facebook ads can you buy? It depends on a lot of factors.
That’s a loaded question and in truth, it can’t be answered without knowing more about your specific sector, your competitors, the season of the year, the period of the day, your audience, and the substance of your ads.
You’re going to love this, so get ready. The most important factor in cutting down on the price of Facebook ads is one over which you have complete control: monitoring and adjusting your campaigns based on the data.
But how can you determine whether or not your costs are “good?” In this article, we will go further into the exciting journey of Facebook Ads Digital Marketing, so please read on!
Facebook Ads: How Much Do They Cost In 2022?
When advertising on Facebook, how do you determine the ideal budget?
We’ll start with a quick analysis: Facebook has a number of different bid mechanisms, the most popular of which is an auction. You can set a maximum daily ad spend, and Facebook will automatically bid on each ad placement on your behalf to maximize your return.
Automatic bidding tactics are the way to go if you’re just getting started with Facebook ads. Manual bid caps are available for advanced users, but they require extensive knowledge of your predicted ROI and historical conversion rates to be effective. Hootsuite Impact (which tracks both paid and organic ROI) provides access to all of this information and more.
The price of your Facebook ads depends on more than one factor:
- General expenditure on the account
- The cost of advertising in each individual campaign
- Funds allotment for each day
- Average cost per lead or sale
- Ad spending ROI (ROAS)
- The Average Cost Per Ad
Facebook Ads Cost: 7 Factors
What factors determine the cost of Facebook ads? There are a plethora of things. Let’s summarize it like this:
Who you are trying to communicate with is important. Putting your Facebook ads in front of a more specific target will, on the whole, cost more money than doing so in front of a more general audience. That is not a negative aspect at all.
You might, for example, advertise to Singapore at a cost of $0.15 per click, with a conversion rate of barely 1%. Or, you might micro-target your advertisements to only your ideal clients, who are people between the ages of 30 and 50 who drink coffee and live in your city. This would cost you $0.65 per click but would result in a conversion rate of 10%. We’ll let you do the math…
The level of competition for advertising space varies by industry, with some sectors seeing far higher levels of competition than others. Your ads expense will, in most cases, go up proportionately to the price of the product you are selling or the value of the potential customer you are attempting to attract.
For instance, businesses that sell t-shirts have a lot less competition than those that provide financial services.
Facebook ads cost competition
Ads on Facebook can be successful for even the smallest of businesses. You will find that it is more challenging when you are competing with big companies with top dollar.
Considering venturing into the children’s toy industry? Great. In the year 2020, Disney spent approximately 200 million on advertising on Facebook’s mobile platform. Are you going into the home goods business? Walmart’s advertising budget was $41 million.
How will your daily advertising budget of $50 on Facebook compete with them? These numbers aren’t meant to discourage you in any way. Differentiating yourself from your rivals is essential to maintaining low costs while maintaining a good return on investment.
You should be aware of what the competition is doing, but you shouldn’t let it influence how you run your ads. Learn as much as you can, have a clear understanding of the challenges you face, and create a strategy to be different.
Seasonality and special occasions
Okay, these aren’t actual numbers, but hopefully, you get the point. Timing is very important. Costs are subject to radically unpredictable shifts based on factors such as the time of year, specific holidays, and unique events that are industry-specific.
The advertising that occurs during Black Friday and Cyber Monday is a famous example. As is common knowledge, the busiest shopping day of the year, with some companies spending as much as six million dollars on digital advertisements on Black Friday alone.
The cost of advertising is notoriously high during the month of December for the same reasons.
Period of the day
Prices have a tendency to drop between the hours of midnight and six in the morning because there is typically less competition during these hours.
You are able to design a custom schedule for the time of day down to the hour, despite the fact that the default setting for ads is to run continuously around the clock.
However, if you’re marketing to other businesses, you shouldn’t assume that you have to conform to standard work hours. The vast majority of individuals watch Facebook ads on their mobile devices, which includes while they are idly scrolling before bed.
The location of the audience you are targeting is important to know. In 2021, running an ad on Facebook that reaches 1,000 people in the United States was costing approximately $35 USD, yet reaching the same amount of people in other countries would only cost $1 USD.
The average prices in each country can vary wildly – ranging from about 10 cents in India to $3.85 in South Korea.
Video, image or carousel don’t necessarily perform better than the other. The answer lies in your A/B testing – you must find the ideal format for your brand.
If you are selling apparel over the internet, an ad that highlights a significant discount or coupon could bring in some customers. However, lifestyle videos or carousel advertisements that show your clothes being worn by individuals are likely to be more effective at attracting new customers.
Experimentation is the only way to determine what approaches are successful for you. Either way, the format of your ads have a significant influence, either positively or negatively, on the cost of your Facebook ads.
Facebook Ads: 5 Ways to Expand Your Campaign
When you find an ad set that consistently delivers the results you need at a price that makes sense for your company, it’s time to ramp it up. Here are a few ways to scale vertically or horizontally:
Increase your ads budget
Increasing your Facebook ads budget is the quickest approach to scaling your campaigns. Often called “vertical scaling,” this strategy ensures that you keep reaching more people and generate more clicks.
However, there is a caveat. If you significantly increase your advertising budget, your current ad set will restart its learning process. Facebook will need to retrain its algorithms to display your ad within the new constraints of your budget. There is no assurance performance will improve to pre-learning levels once the learning phase concludes.
Increasing your ads budget too quickly can cause the commercials to become less effective as the company expands vertically. It is recommended to increase 10% every 24 hours to not reset the learning phase.
Go more broad
It’s likely that you’ll spend a lot of time narrowing your target demographic when running ad tests. While it’s true that being precise can bring great results, it can also be expensive.
In other words, Facebook ads cost will increase once the social media platform has used up all of its cheapest placement opportunities. There should be some consideration given to horizontal scaling when rising expenses and frequency are seen.
Remember that the learning phase must be restarted whenever any adjustments are made to the target audience. A/B testing is the only way to find if there are new possibilities. The winning section can then be confidently added to your optimized ad package, bringing the learning process to a successful close.
You can also expand your website audience by adding another URL by clicking the Include More People button.
Construct Groups That Are Like Yours
Do you feel like you’ve reached everyone in your audience? It might be time to try Facebook’s lookalike audience feature for horizontal scaling.
In order to create a strong lookalike audience, you must first identify and use as inputs your highest-converting audience subsets.
You can download a CSV customer list that features only your most valuable clients and most promising prospects. Lookalike audiences with a high lifetime value can be generated from conversion events associated with a customer’s purchases.